After a three year absence from the podium at Le Mans, Porsche returned with a GT3RSR winning its class at the worlds greatest 24 hour endurance race. Factory drivers Marc Lieb (Germany), Richard Lietz (Austria) and Wolf Henzler (Germany) piloted their German Felbermayr-Proton Porsche to a two-lap GT2 win over the second-place Ferrari. With this victory Porsche bested some very strong opponents, including BMW, Chevrolet Corvette, Jaguar and Spyker. The latest GT3RSR currently holds the championship lead for both the European and American Le Mans Series, and was the most successful GT race car of 2009.

Amazingly, it was 40 years ago that Porsche claimed its first overall win at the world’s oldest endurance race. Hans Herrmann and Richard Atwood piloted Porsche 917K number 23 first across the finish line at the 1970 24 hours of Le Mans. The Ferdinand Piech inspired 917 went on to win nine of ten possible victories in the World Championship of Makes that year, wrapping up an amazing season. Porsche holds the record for most Le Mans wins than any other marque.